North Carolina Files Bill to Place Kratom on Controlled Substances List

5982217580_8bc7cc5ccb_z (1)

By Brandon Turbeville

Wherever there is a good thing, the police state is never far behind. Generally, that police state is made up of uniformed agents throwing peaceful people into cages but also of bureaucrats and parasites working together with corporate hawks to ensure profit, panic and punishment for all.

Such is the case now in North Carolina in regards to the popular plant known as Kratom. For those who may be unaware, mitragyna speciosa (aka Kratom) is a tropical evergreen tree in the coffee family which is native to Southeast Asia.

Although not an opiate itself, Kratom can be used to manage pain and anxiety as well as alcohol dependence. It is possible to use Kratom recreationally, but the effects are generally too mild to classify it as anything resembling a drug.

But that’s not stopping Senator Tom Mcinnis and other members of the North Carolina senate from attempting to make sure that no one is able to alleviate pain, addiction or stress or even (gasp!!!!!) entertain themselves through natural means without permission from government agencies, drug persecutors and drug pushers (with degrees, of course).

Senator McInnis’ bill SB 830 was filed in the Senate by McInnis on May 10, 2016. The bill will add Kratom to the list of controlled substances and appropriate funds for the State Bureau of Investigation so that the SBI will be able to open another front in the costly, tragic and counter-productive War on Drugs.

While Senator Mcinnis and SB 830 supporters may find mass incarceration of non-violent people an attractive aspect of North Carolina, many others do not. We highly encourage the readers, particularly North Carolina residents to email and call members of the Senate Healthcare Committee for the North Carolina Senate and demand that this insane bill be abandoned.

You can visit The American Kratom Association at www.americankratom.org and the North Carolina Chapter on Facebook

Phone numbers and email addresses for the relevant individuals are provided below:

North Carolina residents please email and call members of the Senate Heath Care Committee OR the North Carolina Senate.

Bill Sponsor Senator Tom McInnis    919-733-5953    Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net

Co-Sponsor Senator Joyce Krawiec   919-733-7850    Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net

SB830 adds Kratom to the Controlled Substance List.

1) EMAIL the Senate Health Care Committee:

Mass email:

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.netLouis.Pate@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net ,Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net,  Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net, Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net,David.Curtis@ncleg.net, Don.Davis@ncleg.net, Jim.Davis@ncleg.net,Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net, Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net, Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net,Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net,Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net, Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net, Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net,Andy.Wells@ncleg.net, Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

Ralph Hise (Co-Chairman)   919-733-3460   Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net

Louis Pate (Co-Chairman)   919-733-5621   Louis.Pate@ncleg.net

Tommy Tucker (Co-Chairman)   919-733-7659   Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net

Jeff Tarte (Vice-Chairman)   919-733-3050   Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net

Deanna Ballard   919-733-5742   Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net

Stan Bingham   919-733-5665   Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

David L. Curtis   919-733-3038   David.Curtis@ncleg.net

Don Davis   919-733-8363    Don.Davis@ncleg.net

Jim Davis   919-733-5875   Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr.   919-733-7223   Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

Paul A. Lowe, Jr.   919-733-5620    Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net

Floyd B. McKissick, Jr.   919-733-4599   Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

Ronald J. Rabin   919-733-5748   Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net

Shirley B. Randleman   919-733-5743    Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net

Gladys A. Robinson   919-733-3042    Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net

Bob Rucho   919-733-5655   Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

Terry Van Duyn   919-733-3001   Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net

Trudy Wade   919-733-5856   Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

Andy Wells   919-733-5876   Andy.Wells@ncleg.net

Mike Woodard   919-733-4809   Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

2) EMAIL  The North Carolina Senate:

John.Alexander@ncleg.net,Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.netChad.Barefoot@ncleg.net,Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net, Phil.Berger@ncleg.net,Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net,  Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net,Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.net,Ben.Clark@ncleg.net,Bill.Cook@ncleg.net,David.Curtis@ncleg.net,Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net,  Don.Davis@ncleg.net,Jim.Davis@ncleg.net, Joel.Ford@ncleg.net, Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net,  Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net,Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net,  Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net, Michael.Lee@ncleg.net, Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net,  Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net, Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net,  Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net, Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net,  Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net, Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net,Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net, Jane.Smith@ncleg.net, Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net,Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net,  Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net, Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net,Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net,Andy.Wells@ncleg.net, Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net,

The American Kratom Association has provided a letter template that might be used in contacting the relevant members of the Senate.

To the Honorable Members of the Senate Health Care Committee or North Carolina Senate,

My name is ________, I’m a __-year old _________ from _________ and I’d like to voice my concern about SB830

How you came to use kratom (did you learn about it in a chronic pain support group, etc?)

What ailments you suffer, what treatments haven’t worked (prescriptions, surgery, etc.), how long you’ve been dealing with your condition, how long you’ve been using kratom and how many/what medications you’ve been able to quit.

What kratom means to you (has it given you your life back, have you gone back to work, can you play with your, exercise or travel, etc., something anecdotal about why kratom is important and should be available).

-Conclusion: Kratom is a safe alternative to pharmaceutical drugs with important medicinal uses and has changed my life, so I’m asking you to please vote against SB830.

If you have questions about kratom, please visit www.americankratom.org. Thank you for your time and service to the state.

Sincerely,

— Include your name, address and phone number.

***Please be professional and polite, keeping it as short as possible. Their aides are probably reading these and the moment they notice anything irrational, disrespectful, or get lost due to length, they’ll just move on.

2) CALL  NC residents – Click HERE to find your senator.

NC Senate Member List with full contact info Click HERE

Photo credit: Ahmad Fuad Morad via Visual Hunt / CC BY-NC-SA

This article (North Carolina Files Bill to Place Kratom on Controlled Substances List) can be republished under a Creative Commons license with  attribution to Brandon Turbeville and Natural Blaze.com.

Brandon Turbevillearticle archive here – is an author out of Florence, South Carolina. He is the author of six books, Codex Alimentarius — The End of Health Freedom, 7 Real Conspiracies,Five Sense SolutionsandDispatches From a Dissident, volume 1 and volume 2, The Road to Damascus: The Anglo-American Assault on Syria, and The Difference it Makes: 36 Reasons Why Hillary Clinton Should Never Be President. Turbeville has published over 600 articles dealing on a wide variety of subjects including health, economics, government corruption, and civil liberties. Brandon Turbeville’s podcast Truth on The Tracks can be found every Monday night 9 pm EST at UCYTV. He is available for radio and TV interviews. Please contact activistpost (at) gmail.com.